Football Prediction

ATKMB beats BFC 4-3 to win Indian Super League in the penalty shootout


ATKMB beats BFC 4-3 to win Indian Super League in the penalty shootout

The Jawaharlal Nehru Stadium or the Fatorda in Goa witnessed an unforgettable evening for football fans as ATK Mohun Bagan emerged as the champions of the ISL 2022-23 Finals by defeating Bengaluru FC. In a match full of twists and turns, Dimitri Petratos gave ATKMB the lead with a spot kick before Sunil Chhetri equalized for BFC in the final kick of the first half with another penalty.

In the second half, Roy Krishna’s field goal gave Bengaluru FC the lead, but Petratos once again scored from the spot in the 85th minute to level the score and take the match into extra time. However, both teams failed to score in extra time, and the winner was decided through a penalty shootout, with ATK Mohun Bagan prevailing.

ATK Mohun Bagan secured the third spot in the league phase by winning 10 out of their 20 matches and accumulating 34 points. In the knockout round, they beat Odisha and advanced to the semifinals where they defeated Hyderabad on penalties under the guidance of Juan Ferrando.

On the contrary, Bengaluru finished at the bottom of the table, trailing behind the Mariners. Despite having 34 points from 20 games like their counterparts, Simon Grayson’s side was ranked lower based on goal differential. However, the 2018-19 ISL champions managed to beat Mumbai City in the semi-final after overcoming Kerala Blasters in the knockout round.


In the shootout, it was Bengaluru who started off the proceedings and Alan Costa did score off his attempt, sending Vishal Kaith to the wrong side. For the Mariners, it was Petratos who scored once again, his third spot kick all in the same direction and all beating Bangalore’s Gurpreet Singh Sandhu.

Krishna converted his penalty kick for Bengaluru in the shootout, but ATKMB quickly answered with Colaco’s successful attempt, beating Sandhu. However, the Player of the Match, Kaith, showcased his skills by stopping Bruno’s penalty kick. Then, Nassiri converted his penalty kick, giving ATK Mohun Bagan the lead. Despite Chhetri scoring for Bengaluru in the shootout, Sandhu failed to save Manvir’s shot, and Perez missed his attempt, securing the first ISL title for ATK Mohun Bagan with a 4-3 win in the penalty shootout.


Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button